West End Yoga

This fall, I finally crossed something off of my Allentown bucket list–a yoga class at West End Yoga on Highland Street. I have practiced yoga on and off for about five years and have taken the West End sponsored yoga classes at Hillel, but I never made it to the actual studio. My mother is actually a yoga teacher and my upbringing has taught me to seek out methods of stress management and relaxation whenever possible. As I walked into West End with my friend Andrew, we were immediately greeted by one of the instructors, Teri. We were the first to arrive to the class and as the class began to fill, Teri introduced us to each new member of the class and finally the teacher, Kevin. Before beginning the practice, Kevin reviewed everyone’s names and this personal interaction made me feel more at home in Allentown, than I’ve felt in my last three years at Berg. As I mentioned before, a few of the WE teachers teach free classes at Hillel, but after my initial experience, I vowed to make an effort to come back to the studio, which is conveniently located about three blocks past Tilghman St. on Highland. A $5 donation is asked of Muhlenberg students at the studio, but the cost is well worth the personal interactions and the inviting atmosphere. I finally felt as if I found a place in Allentown that reminded me of home and gave me an activity to do off campus that would benefit me in so many areas of my life. I recommend that all Berg students, no matter where they are in their yoga practice (first timer-seasoned yogis) attend a class at West End Yoga. It is truly a hidden gem in Allentown’s West End and should be known as one for its kind and welcoming business. (Plus the studio offers a greater variety of classes than the ones at Hillel! They have everything from beginning yoga to advanced heated yoga)! I recommend taking a class there ASAP and try one with Kevin, Leah, Heather, or even Media and Comm department chair Dr. Lora Taub!

Featured image taken from http://www.weyogacenter.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/Marco-Calderon-Photography-27-WestEnd-Yoga-102712-605×300.jpg. Photo taken by Marco Calderon.

Leave a Reply

